

TEL: 312-814-2600 TDD: 866-323-0273 FAX: 312-814-5062

ILLINOIS RACING BOARD

MINUTES OF BOARD MEETING

On Thursday October 14, 2021, a regular meeting of the Illinois Racing Board was held at the James R. Thompson Center (JRTC), Chicago, Illinois and via WebEx Audio Conferencing starting at 10:00 a.m. The following Board members participated: Chairman Dan Beiser, Commissioners Leslie Breuer Jr, Marcus Davis, Beth Doria, Lydia Gray, Alan Henry, Charles MacKelvie, Benjamin Reyes, Leslye Sandberg and John Stephan. Staff members Domenic DiCera (JRTC), John Gay (JRTC), Bob Denneen (JRTC), Michael Belmonte, and Donald Marquez also participated

LICENSEE REQUESTS:

Commissioner Reyes moved for approval of race officials at Hawthorne Race Course for the 2021 fall meet. Commissioner Breuer seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote.

Chairman Beiser moved for approval of a disbursement of funds from the Quarter Horse Purse Fund authorized under Section 26.9 and 27(a-5) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act. Commissioner Reyes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote

STAFF REQUESTS:

Commissioner Davis moved for approval of the pari-mutal tax credit authorized under Section 32.1 of the Illinois Horse Racing Act. Commissioner Sandberg seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote.

Chairman Beiser moved to amend and ratify the 2021 Dates Order to comply with the Illinois Open Meetings Act and the Illinois Racing Act. Commissioner MacKelvie seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Reyes moved to approve the minutes of the September 23, 2021 board meeting. Commissioner Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote.

ADJOURMENT

At 10:30 AM., Commissioner Davis moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner MacKelvie seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (10-0) by roll call vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Domenic DiCera
Executive Director