MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING

On Friday, May 22, 2020, a regular meeting of the Illinois Racing Board was held via WebEx Audio Conferencing starting at 10:00 a.m. The following Board members participated: Chairman Dan Beiser and Commissioners Marcus Davis, Charles MacKelvie, Thomas McCauley, Arlene Mulder, Benjamin Reyes. Staff members Domenic DiCera, John Gay, Mickey Ezzo, Michael Belmonte, and Donald Marquez also participated.

PUBLIC COMMENTARY

The Board entertained comments from the following speakers: Michael Slager, Nicholas Micaletti representing Teamsters Local 727, and representing the Illinois Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (ITHA), Michael Campbell, David McCaffrey, Terry Young, and Chris Block.

LICENSEE REQUESTS

Commissioner Mulder moved for approval of Melissa Helton as President and General Manager of Fairmount Park. Commissioner Reyes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (6-0) by roll call vote. Ms. Helton testified.

Commissioner Mulder moved for ratification of the Board Order approved by the Board on April 24, 2020. The Board Order amended the 2020 Dates Order by suspending the beginning of the 2020 race meet at Arlington Park Racecourse due to the pandemic and awarded Arlington Park host status from April 27 through May 22, 2020. Commissioner Reyes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (6-0) by roll call vote.

Commissioner Mulder moved for approval to assign dark host days to Arlington Park for the period May 23, 2020 through June 18, 2020, the date of the Board's May meeting. Commissioner MacKelvie seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (6-0) by roll call vote. Tony Petrillo and Shaun Wood testified on behalf of Arlington Park. John Walsh and Jim Miller testified on behalf of Hawthorne Race Course. David Mc Caffrey testified on behalf of the ITHA.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Reyes moved to approve the minutes of the April 24, 2020 Board meeting. Commissioner Mulder seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (6-0) by roll call vote.

ADJOURMENT

At 12:05 p.m., Commissioner Mulder moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Reyes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted, Domenic DiCera Executive Director