

TEL: 312-814-2600 TDD: 866-323-0273 FAX: 312-814-5062

# ILLINOIS RACING BOARD

### **MINUTES OF BOARD MEETING**

On Thursday January 25, 2024, a regular meeting of the Illinois Racing Board was held at 555 West Monroe, Chicago, Illinois starting at 11:10 a.m. The following Board members participated: Chairman Dan Beiser, Commissioners Eddie Arroyo, Leslie Breuer, Lydia Gray, Marc Laino, Alyssa Murphy, Benjamin Reyes, Patricia Saccone, and Michael Schmidt. Staff members Domenic DiCera, Lindsay Evans, Bob Denneen, Michael Belmonte, Vitto Okoye, and Donald Marquez also participated.

### LICENSEE REQUESTS:

Commissioner Reyes moved for approval of race officials at Fairmount Park, Inc for calendar year 2024. Commissioner Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

Commissioner Gray moved for approval of race officials at Hawthorne Race Course for calendar year 2024. Commissioner Reyes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

Commissioner Breuer moved for approval of race officials at Suburban Downs, Inc for calendar year 2024. Commissioner Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

Commissioner Reyes moved for approval of the following contracting goals for 2024 for organization licensees pursuant to Section 12.2 of the Illinois Horse Racing Act. Minority owned businesses – 11%, Female owned businesses – 7%, Businesses owned by persons with disabilities – 2%. Commissioner Arroyo seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

## **BOARD REQUESTS:**

Commissioner Laino moved to certify the following recapture amounts for calendar year 2024. Hawthorne Race Course Thoroughbred \$2,510,340, Suburban Downs, Inc Harness \$1,032,439, Fairmount Park Thoroughbred \$1,865,928, Fairmount Park Illinois Colt Stakes Fund \$14,231 for a total 2024 recapture amount of \$5,422,938 Commissioner Saccone seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote

Commissioner Murphy moved for approval to initiate rulemaking to amend Section 1413.140. Commissioner Laino seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

Commissioner Arroyo moved for approval to initiate rulemaking to amend Section 1413.131. Commissioner Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Commissioner Saccone moved to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2023 board meeting. Commissioner Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

# ADJOURMENT

At 11:53 AM., Commissioner Reyes moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Breuer seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (9-0) by roll call vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Domenia Di Cura

Domenic DiCera Executive Director